header_chirho
Rock and religion have always been a pair. I was a teenager in the 80’s and yes I loved the Big Hair bands, Van Halen, Bon Jovi, Def Leppard and many of them often wore large jewelry and symbols as well. And then there were the sounds of the R & B crooners who didn’t just sing, but preached their lyrics like Baptist ministers. Crooners like Teddy Pendergrass and the Rev.Al Green who sang both gospel and ballads with a preacher’s conviction. And then my Prince came along and rocked the planet with his blatant sexuality and his love for all things spiritual; a screeching guitar on his shoulder and surrounded by religious symbols throughout his career and strung through his lyrics.

I say all that to say that I love rock, soul music, rhythm & blues and religion. Barbara and Maria Serbes must have known that there were kindred souls out here like me who would totally get what they were doing with their jewelry and accessories line beautifully named Rock Your Religion! RYR makes custom jewelry and accessories using “ancient religious symbols with a rock star infusion”. I love that slogan and Barbara didn’t mind telling me that she created it. She calls herself the slogan girl. But not only is it a cute slogan, it fits perfectly with the feel of the product line.

The signature pieces showcase a religious symbol called the Chi-Rho, which is considered to be a “modern good luck charm”. The Greek letters Chi (x) and Rho (p) are the first two letters of the Greek word for Christ. Apparently in 312AD, Emperor Constantine saw a vision of the Chi-Rho symbol in the sky along with the words “En Touto Nika” which translates to “In this sign, you will conquer”.

I actually wore the Chi-Rho the other day while preparing to go into word battle with my cell phone company.

But more importantly, not only the Chi-Rho, but all of the Rock Your Religion line has won over many courageous hearts, most famously the Backstreet Boys’ Howie D, who commissioned a piece as his own personal sale item for their last tour. Other famous people “get” the line. The word is out that Miley Cyrus, J-Lo and hubby Marc Anthony also took a liking to the brand!

I took a liking to the brand, which is why I am now selling the brand here in Philly, but don’t misunderstand, this blog post isn’t about me and what I do for Rock Your Religion, it’s about what they are doing for the world of accessories. They are bringing something fresh, edgy and spiritual into a world where people want more and more to wear things that have meaning. And if that isn’t enough to make you love them, a percentage of the sales goes to help conquer Lupus, which I recently found out is affecting someone in my family.

So visit the Rock Your Religion webpage, choose your own modern day good luck charm, help conquer Lupus, be fashionable and be apart of the solution, all at the same time.

Peace.

http://www.rockyourreligion.com
Follow RYR on Twitter at http://Twitter.com/RockReligion
Become a Fan on FaceBook – Rock Your Religion